Not Forgotten

  ~ I’d probably heard the song playing on the radio a hundred times before. But it seemed to pierce my heart in a new way ~

                                    “I have seen the many faces of fear and of pain, I have watched the tears fall plenty  from heartache and strain. So if this life’s journey has you weary and afraid, there’s rest in the shadow of His wings.”

  ~ The last couple of days had been spent in the quiet little town of Blakely, Georgia. As is so often the case, I’d received immeasurably more than I could have ever given ~

                                     “I’ve walked through the valleys, the mountains, and plains. I have held the hand of freedom that washes all my stains. If you feel the weight of many trials and burdens from this world, there’s freedom in the shelter of the Lord.”

  ~ Scheduled to speak at the Annual Women’s Luncheon, I’d prepared a message from an experience I’d had on a mission trip ten years ago to the Ukraine. It spoke of team…purpose…healing…living with a heart of God ~

                                  “And I have seen the healing hand of God, reaching out and mending broken hearts. Taste and see the fullness of His peace, and hold on to what’s being held out, the healing hand of God.”

    ~ I witnessed firsthand a group of women who’d unknowingly become the epitome of the message. Story after story was shared of women who’d experienced the loss of a husband,  a child, loved ones and close friends…women who were battling cancer, women who’d recently lost the fight ~

                              “And I’ve touched the scars upon His hands to see if they were real. He has walked the road before me, He knows just how I feel. When you feel that there’s not anyone, who understands your pain, just remember all of Jesus’s suffering.”

  ~ women who’d formed a team with a purpose to bring about healing, women who live with a heart of God ~

                          “Cast all your cares on Him for He cares for you. He’s near to the broken and confused. By His stripes our spirit is renewed, so enter in the joy prepared for you.”

  ~ May we all be moved by the example of the Godly women of First United Methodist Church of Blakely to taste and see the fullness of God’s Shalom and hold on tightly to what is being held out…the healing hand of God ~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Healing Hand of God Lyrics by Jeremy Camp

2 thoughts on “Not Forgotten

  1. Again beautifully expressed Randy! I spent this week in prayerful planning with two different teams of women called by God to serve otner women for His glory. And then two other mornings in prayer with two different women whom the world would look at and think they had it all, but whose hearts and families were being torn apart. What a sacred privilege to come to Jesus for his grace and mercy together as women…just one beggar showing another where to find food and healing. Love you!

Leave a comment